Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Boise State University's Blueprint for Social Justice - Law & Liberty

Boise State University (BSU) has been my academic home since 2000. The university has grown as the greater Boise area has grown: the area has been a wonderful place to live and work.

National trends in higher education come a little later to Idaho and, perhaps because it is a deep red state, they often come a little gentler too. BSU is making a concerted effort to catch up to the rest of the country and to get with the diversity program.

I learned the hard way that I had “mis-underestimated” BSU’s effort to build what Jonathan Haidt calls a Social Justice University (SJU). Just how much BSU had changed became evident when I published a series of reports and articles concerning feminism and its relation to transgenderism in 2017.

This experience forced me to take a step back to see what happened at my home institution and why. I found that, brick by brick, BSU was building a diversity infrastructure to dismantle its “deep red” environment.

via www.libertylawsite.org

Nooooooooo! This is awful! This is in my home town! Where I would retire except my LWJ won't let me!

Via instapundit.

https://rightcoast.typepad.com/rightcoast/2018/02/boise-state-universitys-blueprint-for-social-justice-law-liberty.html

| Permalink

Comments

Is it pronounced Boyz, Boyz-eh, Boysssss, ...?

Anyway, retire to Nelson on the South Island of NZ, a most desirable spot. Or Napier on the North Island.

Posted by: dearieme | Mar 1, 2018 10:17:00 AM

"There's no Z in Boise" as the saying goes. It's BOY-cee, not BOY-zee.
Don't think I'm not looking at NZ. Unfortunately, it's a long way for the kids (and we hope grandkids) to travel.

Posted by: Tom Smith | Mar 1, 2018 12:02:28 PM

Cousins of mine retired to Arizona. Wouldn't you after a career in shivery Ontario?

Posted by: dearieme | Mar 1, 2018 4:06:15 PM

Apparently Portugal offers a very good tax deal for retirees who go to live there. In our experience the Portuguese are a very decent lot even though they live on the Continent. It must be to do with living so far west.

Posted by: dearieme | Mar 2, 2018 1:31:15 PM

Oh, and not having a border with France, I suppose.

Posted by: dearieme | Mar 2, 2018 1:31:34 PM

Does the USD Law School dean have similar aims?

Posted by: Greg | Mar 2, 2018 9:39:32 PM